Archdiocese of Chicago Locators:  Parishes | Elementary Schools | High Schools
:: News and Events


Chicago, IL (May 10, 2011) – Francis Cardinal George, OMI, Archbishop of Chicago, will ordain twelve men as permanent deacons at 2:30 p.m., on Sunday, May 15, at Holy Name Cathedral, State and Superior Streets in Chicago.

The newly ordained deacons will have completed a four-year program at the University of Saint Mary of the Lake / Mundelein Seminary that included classes in Theology, Pastoral Ministry, Spiritual Formation and Communication/Collaboration.  They will serve in their home parishes in Chicago, Arlington Heights, Des Plaines, Evergreen Park, Highland Park, Ingleside, Lemont, Oak Lawn and Wadsworth.

Between 95 and 96 percent of deacons are married with families and most are also engaged in outside occupations.  They are clergy, along with priests and bishops.  The ministries that Deacons perform include the teaching mission of the Church, caring for the poor, performing baptisms and marriages, conducting funeral liturgies, presiding at wake services and assisting the priest at Mass by proclaiming the Gospel, preaching, leading intercessions, preparing the altar and intoning the dismissal.


John Baier will serve at Immaculate Conception Parish, 776 Deerfield Road, Highland Park. 

Michael Ciciura will serve at Ss. Cyril and Methodius Parish, 608 Sobieski Street, Lemont.

Martin Enciso will serve at Good Shepherd Parish, 2719 South Kolin Avenue, Chicago.

Bill Gibbons will serve at St. Patrick Parish, 15000 Wadsworth Road, Wadsworth.

Joe Gonzalez will serve at St. Germaine Parish, 98th Street at South Kolin Avenue, Oak Lawn.

Ivan Lazcano will serve at St. Stephen Protomartyr Parish, 1267 Everest Avenue, Des Plaines.

Mark Phelan will serve at Most Holy Redeemer Parish, 9525 South Lawndale Avenue, Evergreen Park.

Edward Podgorski will serve at St. Monica Parish, Foster and Nottingham, Chicago.

Juan Ponce de Leon will serve at St. William Parish, 2558 North Sayer Avenue, Chicago.

Chuck Thompson will serve at St. Mary of the Woods Parish, 7033 North Moselle Avenue, Chicago.

Jospeh Yannotta will serve at St. Edna Parish, 2525 North Arlington Heights Road, Arlington Heights.

Gregory Zeifert will serve at St. Bede Parish, 36455 North Wilson Road, Ingleside.

Biographical profiles about this year’s deacons can be found on the Catholic New World website,

More information about the Archdiocese of Chicago’s Deacon Formation Program can be found at the website for the University of Saint Mary of the Lake / Mundelein Seminary,

Return to Top